About us

Thank you for visiting the Blue Mountains World Heritage Institute.

We have a new website. Please go to www.bmwhi.org

Archived content follows.

mtns aerial photo


VISION: The Greater Blue Mountains is the world’s most inspiring World Heritage Area

  • understood, valued and cared for by residents and visitors
  • supporting healthy and prosperous local communities

MISSION: To create a world-leading example of science, knowledge and community participating together to develop innovative solutions for the complex challenges of conservation and sustainable living

  • as a regionally-focused centre of excellence


  • To work with and create value for regional stakeholders
  • To provide cross-disciplinary expertise and knowledge, through problem-oriented research programs
  • To inform and encourage innovative world-class conservation policy and management delivered in partnership with local communities
  • To deliver stimulating and well-attended nature-based education and experiential learning programs
  • To thrive on a sustainable business model


Funding is derived from government research grants, benefaction, sponsorship, fees for services and from the annual contributions of our member organisations.

If you would like to make a tax-deductible donation to the Blue Mountains World Heritage Institute, please visit our online donations page.

Current Members


Founding Members

  • Australian Museum
  • Blue Mountains City Council
  • Botanic Gardens Trust, NSW Department of Environment & Climate Change (DECC)
  • Parks and Wildlife Group, DECC
  • Sydney Catchment Authority
  • University of New South Wales
  • University of Sydney
  • University of Western Sydney
  • University of Technology, Sydney



The Institute is a Company Limited By Guarantee regulated by ASIC and the Corporations Act (2001). Each member organisation makes an annual financial contribution to the Institute and is entitled to nominate one representative as a director on the board. There are also three independent (non-member) directors – the Chairperson of the Board, the Chairperson of the Finance and Audit Committee and the Executive Director. The Board, the Finance and Audit Committee and the Research Committee each meet four times a year and delegate the day to day management of the company to the Executive Director, who is the only board member to be remunerated. Except for special resolutions, which require a vote of 75%, other decisions are made by a majority of votes. Each director has one vote and the Chairperson does not have a casting vote.

The Company’s Constitution stipulates that no profits are distributed to members, and on winding up, any surplus assets are to be transferred to another organisation with similar objectives. The Institute is listed on the Government Register of Environmental Organisations, giving it tax-deductibility status.


Comments are closed